Georgia on my mind

I can’t believe it has been three weeks since I got on the road! Since leaving Indianapolis on August 2, I have been to three states, visited four chapters and one soon-to-be colony, traveled through seven different airports, and met innumerable amazing women.

I have been meaning to write an update for the past week or two, but every time I get a free moment while traveling I am either catching up on work, a a good book, or some much needed sleep, so I haven’t had a chance to. Here are what my travels and adventures have been the last three weeks!

First visit-Gamma Alpha chapter, University of Georgia

I visited Gamma Alpha along with Sara, another LC, for a week to help with their Polish Week. The chapter’s house on Milledge Avenue is beautiful and historic and has lots of fun stories about its history. I loved getting to know the chapter members and leadership and getting to explore the UGA campus a little bit. It is the oldest public university in the nation and has a lot of tradition as well.

The Alpha Gam chapter house at the University of Georgia.
The Alpha Gam chapter house at the University of Georgia.

 

 

The Phi Mu house at the University of Georgia
The Phi Mu house at the University of Georgia

IMG_6254

Had to take a selfie with the famous arches of University of Georgia--legend goes that if you walk underneath, you won't graduate!
Had to take a selfie with the famous arches of University of Georgia–legend goes that if you walk underneath, you won’t graduate!

 

Sanford Stadium is beautiful and was the first SEC stadium I've seen--the hedges that line the field are famous
Sanford Stadium is beautiful and was the first SEC stadium I’ve seen–the hedges that line the field are famous
The chapter had a fun sisterhood event taste testing the weird chip flavors that Lay's makes!
The chapter had a fun sisterhood event taste testing the weird chip flavors that Lay’s makes!

Second visit-Gamma Phi chapter, Georgia Tech

After Gamma Alpha, I traveled an hour down the road to Atlanta, where I worked with our Gamma Phi chapter during their Polish Week and Formal Recruitment. The chapter members are all so passionate about what they are studying and about Alpha Gam, and it was fun learning about their campus traditions, including a freshman Cake Run up a hill on campus (the winner gets cake) and Tug, which is a tug of war competition–in March–in a mud pit that is dug specifically for the event. The members took me out at a lot of good places to eat, and I had my first Zaxby’s (the sauce is incredible), Southern biscuits with gravy, and Southern BBQ.

My first Southern BBQ and it was even better than it looks.
My first Southern BBQ and it was even better than it looks.
The chapter was surprised with an Italian ice truck during Polish Week!
The chapter was surprised with an Italian ice truck during Polish Week!
Biscuits with turkey sausage and gravy and pimento cheese grits
Biscuits with turkey sausage and gravy and pimento cheese grits
The chapter house at Georgia Tech was just rebuilt a few years ago.
The chapter house at Georgia Tech was just rebuilt a few years ago.
The famous Tech tower is the first building on campus and the sign is lit up at night.
The famous Tech tower is the first building on campus and the sign is lit up at night.

Third visit-soon to be recolonized Epsilon Chi chapter, Kansas State University

After my first two chapter visits I traveled to Manhattan, Kansas (known as the “Little Apple”) to participate in the first round of recruitment in the first start of our process of recolonizing the chapter at Kansas State. It was great to be reunited with some of the other LCs and IHQ staff and be able to talk about what the Alpha Gam experience will be like for colony members. I was only there for a few days, but I will return later this week to help continue with the colonization process.

The LCs during recruitment at Kansas State!
The LCs during recruitment at Kansas State!
Sunrise over Kansas as we were leaving
Sunrise over Kansas as we were leaving
I got a great view of the Chicago skyline while transferring on the way to K-State
I got a great view of the Chicago skyline while transferring on the way to K-State
The Kansas State library Great Hall has murals on the wall representing each of the original colleges of the school.
The Kansas State library Great Hall has murals on the wall representing each of the original colleges of the school.

 

Fourth visit-Gamma Iota chapter, Mercer University

I returned to Georgia for my next visit at Mercer University, which is in Macon. Macon is a little over an hour south of Atlanta, and you can tell with the humidity change–it was very humid.  I was only there for a few days but I loved getting to know the women and helping them with Formal Recruitment. They live in a chapter house in a Greek village, and all of the chapter houses are built the same, which created a really nice community. I forgot to take photos during my visit, but it was so fun working with these women.

Fifth visit-Delta Rho chapter, Sonoma State University

I am now in northern California at Sonoma State University to help our Delta Rho chapter during their recruitment prep. I am loving getting to know these women and am enjoying my first time on the west coast and will have more updates after my visit!

Leave a Reply

