How to pack to live out of a suitcase

Living out of one checked bag, one carry-on, and one backpack requires you leave many things home. My favorite Lehigh sweatshirt, my MacBook Air, and my favorite pairs of patterned shorts all did not make the cut, unfortunately.

What did make the cut?

  •  lots of business clothes
  • dress flats and heels
  • a travel steamer
  • four books (for the summer, I’ll switch to reading on my iPad once I am traveling)
  • photos of family and friends
  • some casual and workout clothes

Note: this is a very abbreviated list

All packed up but five pounds over
All packed up but five pounds over

My mom and I spent all of last week shopping for the new clothes that I needed and for odds and ends that I’ll need while traveling. The best travel accessory that we got are Dot & Dot clothes organizers so that my clothes are separated better in my suitcase–it will definitely make it easier while looking for stuff!

It took us a while to fit everything in while packing, and when we finally did we were five pounds over. So I had to say goodbye to some more clothes and switch out some toiletries for travel size ones, but now I am comfortably under the 50 pound limit. Next stop: Indy!

An alternate title for this blog was "A girl and her big blue suitcase"
An alternate title for this blog was “A girl and her big blue suitcase”

 

 

Leave a Reply

