French food

I am determined to try every popular French food while I am here for a month, even escargot.  As it’s nearing the end of the second week, I have made my way down the list with crepes (and lots of them), paninis, éclairs, quiche, and macaroons (although the French pronounce them like mak-ah-rone).

I still need to have crossiants, coffee, and yes, escargot (if you have been to Paris and I am forgetting a major delicacy, feel free to comment below!)

Last week I mainly had crepes because they are amazing and cheaper to get at a stand or counter-service place rather than sitting down for lunch.  Plus, you can get crepes sucrées or crêpes salées, or sweet or savory, so they work for any meal or a delicious snack.

I realized I needed to start varying my food so that I could try all that Paris has to offer, so yesterday after lunch at a falafel restaurant in the Marais district we went over to a bakery and I got an éclair.

Unlike American éclairs, this one had chocolate on the inside too.  It cost four euros and was very good—the dough tasted fresher and more authentic than the crepes I’ve had at home.

My first Parisian eclair
My first Parisian eclair

After the Louvre today we walked in the general direction of Notre Dame and I got my first quiche and macaroon from a bakery.  The quiche was very hot but a great snack to have while wandering the streets of Paris.  I ate the macaroon while writing this post and it was to die for, macaroons may be my new favorite dessert.

Quiche au jambon--quiche with ham, served piping hot
Quiche au jambon–quiche with ham, served piping hot
Macaron au fraises--the outside lighter than a cookie and has amazing frosting and raspberries
Macaron au fraises–the outside lighter than a cookie and has amazing frosting and raspberries

 

Leave a Reply

